Welcome back everyone! Today is day 5 of 365!

First off, I hope everyone is enjoying their weekends. Mine is definitely proving to be productive. I woke up this morning, watched the sun rise, and went back to sleep for 3 hours. Then I got up again, made some coffee, let the dogs out, fed the cats, started some laundry, and then sat at my desk for a 2 hour online A & P class. In between slides I balanced my checkbook and made a grocery list. I’m so talented at mulit-tasking, wouldn’t you say? My class was over at noon, so I finished getting dressed, did the dishes, put the clothes in the dryer and started a new load, and headed to the commissary. Going to the commissary when army is having a home game is both good and bad. The good part is the commissary itself is pretty much empty. The bad part is there was like zero parking because they use the lot for handicap game parking. Sacrifices, sacrifices. Anywho, I got some groceries, picked Scott up from the band building and headed back to the house. By the time I got all the groceries put away and everything taken care of (including the dogs, who had gotten out of the yard and been brought back by some kind neighbors) it was 4pm and I hadn’t eaten yet. Boooo. So we ate.

And then! I started a new vegan adventure: zucchini bread. I’ve never made it before in its regular non-vegan state, and I sure as heck hadn’t made it using vegan substitutes. And who thought to put zucchini in sweet bread anyway? A damn genius, that’s who. Basically the vegan substitutes included a certain type of sugar, ground flax seed, and applesauce. Nothing drastic. It was really easy to make, too. The only crappy part was having to grate the zucchini and sift all the dry ingredients. I found the recipe on a fellow vegan’s blog and it was an absolute success.  I plan on making it many many more times. If you’re interested in the recipe for yourself you can get it here: http://hellyeahitsvegan.com/?p=777

That’s pretty much all I’ve got for today. So here’s to the end of your Saturday and on to a great Sunday. See you tomorrow for installment 6 of my little project! Enjoy today’s picture of my finished zucchini bread!

My first ever homemade zucchini bread!

My first ever homemade zucchini bread!

