It’s day 71 of 365 everyone! I hope you had a wonderful Tuesday!!

So, discussing my blog with my husband, I’ve decided to structure it a little differently (I told you this was coming). I’m going to start planning the day’s blog the day before, so I know the layout before hand so it can simmer in my mind overnight. I want to have specific topics everyday that I can talk about so I’m not just saying, oh, this was my day, the end. So with that in mind, on to today’s topic.

Feline FIV and Feline Leukemia. Some cats are born with it, and if that’s the case, there really isn’t a lot you can do but treat symptoms as they come along and keep them away from any cats that do not have the diseases, as they are transferred via bodily fluids.  But most cats aren’t. And there is a simple 10 minute in house blood test your vet can perform that will tell you whether or not your cat has them. And if they do not, you can have your cat vaccinated and save you grief in the long run. So why is this tonight’s topic? Two brothers brought in their 1 year old cat this evening because she was completely lethargic, dehydrated, and having difficulty breathing. This cat looked absolutely terrible. After running a snap test, we discover that the cat has Feline Leukemia and at that point, there was nothing we could do for her. She was euthanized. These poor boys were absolutely beside themselves. And it was probably something that could have been prevented if they had taken her for her regular vaccinations and tests. So basically, take your pets to the damn vet like you’re supposed to. Preventative health care is much more affordable than emergency care in the long run.

Now on to today’s photo. I give you exhibit A:

Seriously?

I know you might think this offensive to be because I’m vegan (except for that chocolate that I ate on a few occasions, but seriously, I’m done with that. Promise), but that’s not it. I know that people eat meat. I know that companies have to sell what they’re selling. But really? Inner carnivore? Do I have to whip out the anthropology on this one and say that humans and pre humans have NEVER EVER been carnivores (aside from individual circumstances). We’ve always been omnivores by nature.  Period. Humans and pre humans ate what they could find when they could find it. And quite honestly, it was more of a plant based diet than meat based. *sigh* I dunno. It just rubbed me the wrong way. Maybe because I was tired and cranky. Thoughts?

It’s late now and I’m going to go to sleep. Hope you have a great night and I’ll see y’all tomorrow (well, technically today I guess).

 

 

