It’s day 84 of 365!

And how was your Monday? Mine was extraordinarily busy, even though I had the day off.

I woke up this morning and went to Target to try to finish my holiday shopping. I was able to get everything! I’m so glad. I was stuck on one person, and remembered what I had read on Alicia Silverstone’s website about creating gift baskets with everyday eco-friendly things such as household cleaners.  So I thought I’d try it. I bought a reusable storage container and put several Ms. Meyer’s Lemon Verbena cleaning products inside. I hope the person I made it for likes it. I know that I would enjoy getting it. I’ll include a picture.

Four of our five cats had to go to the vet this afternoon. That was an adventure…Carl managed to poop in the carrier that he and Marla were sharing on the way there. Marla was a crazy bitch while the vet was trying to give her shots. She wound up biting and scratching the crap out of me. Then on the way back to the car, Fred’s carrier popped open and she got spooked and took of running up the hill behind the vet building. I was finally able to catch her while she was trying to go in through a window of building 684. She’s an insane cat and that was soooo scary. I was really worried that she was going to get hit by a car or run off into the woods never to be seen again.  I’m so glad she’s ok.

This evening was the holiday tree lighting at West Point. I went with some of my Girl Scout troop. I have photos of the actual tree and the girls that came on my regular camera, and I’ll post them tomorrow. It is a beautiful tree. The only thing I didn’t like was that every time the MC said “Happy Holidays” some lady kept yelling “You mean Merry Christmas?!” I had this problem last year, too. Some people who celebrate Christmas tend for forget that there are at least 4 other religious/cultural holidays during this time of the year including Yule/Solstice, Hanukkah, Kwanzaa, and Ramadan. And 3 of the 4 were around before Christmas. This is the time of year where we should spend time with our families, be thankful for what we have, and celebrate whatever our beliefs lead us to celebrate. And most importantly, we should be accepting and tolerant of others’ beliefs because the holiday season is also about peace and love. So please keep that in mind when someone wishes you a happy holiday instead of Merry Christmas.

So other than the photo of the gift basket I made, I have a picture of my friend’s daughter (and also one of my Girl Scouts) Katie with Santa Claus after the tree lighting this evening. Enjoy and I’ll see y’all tomorrow!

